This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Oratorical Contest

Oratorical Contest

The Oratorical Contest is an exciting event that commemorates the oral tradition of our ancestors who were great writers, authors, and orators that helped change the world. The Oratorical Contest is intended to highlight the talents, skills, and gifts of our scholars. The Oratorical Contest will be the final event of our Black History Month celebrations.

During this event, our scholars will showcase their oratorical abilities through recitation of group speeches, memoirs, poems, and spoken word. There are three (3) selection levels to the Oratorical Contest: in class preliminaries, grade group semi-finals, and the all-school finals.

Contestants - All classes were scored using a rubric. The top (3) classes from each grade moved on to compete in the Finals on 2/28/18.

 Kindergarten                                                Title of Essays

1.      Ms. Caffrey                                   Mae C. Jemison by Dina Anastasio

2.      Ms. Bickel                                     African Child by Eku McGred

3.      Ms. Macleod                                 His Dream Lives On by Unknown

4.      Mrs. Hayes                                    Kathy Johnson by Unknown

5.      Ms. Marusco                                 I, Too by Langston Hughes

6.      Mrs. McHugh                                Life Doesn’t Frighten Me by Maya Angelou

7.      Ms. Taylor                                     Jackie Changes the Game by Unknown

8.      Mrs. Monck                                   Equality by Maya Angelou  by Unknown

9.      Mr. Harrison                                  Still I Rise by Maya Angelou

First Grade, TAAS, Life Skills, and Autistic Support

1.      Ms. Hummel                                 Harlem Hopscotch by Maya Angelou

2.      Ms. Allbritain                                My People by Langston Hughes

3.      Ms. Connor                                   Freedom, Freedom by Unknown

4.      Ms. Osborne                                  Harriet Tubman by Eloise Greenfield

5.      Ms. Buckley                                  Martin Luther King Jr. by Unknown

6.      Mrs. Cunningham                         America’s Greatest Farmer by Unknown

7.      Ms. McGinty                                 Ruby Showed the Way by Carol Oaks

8.      Mrs. Lawrence                              Go to the Back Rosa Parks by Unknown

9.      Ms. Kilpatrick                               Shirley Chisholm Knew by Theresa Gaughan

10.    Ms. Goerlach                                 Hey Black Child By Countee Cullen


Age Groups – Kindergarten, 1st Grade, TAAAS (Grades 1-2), Autistic Support (Grades 1-3) and Life Skills (Grades 1- 3)

Panel of judges, etc.

Ms. Stephanie Wright

Dr. Kwame Williams

Dr. David Clark

Dr. Linda Portlock

Dr. Benita Jessup

Ms. Annette Ray